Any monitor or agent should have link to an order.
The clients can only link monitors or agents to non-Managed orders.
Monitors and agents can be moved from order to order.
It is not possible to link a monitor or agent to a suspended order. However, you can link a monitor from a suspended order to an active order. You can do that both by using API (ChangeMonitorOrder) and in the client’s dashboard from the Monitor List (see further in the document).
After moving a monitor from suspended to active order it will be automatically activated if the monitor was active before the order suspension.
Service-Device monitors are connected to an order not directly, but via the agent they belong to. So, to be able to add Server-Device monitors, first a link between the agent and an order must be established, as explained further under Agents.
Agents in the clients’ accounts can be Managed and non-Managed, and it’s defined by the first monitor added for the agent in the client’s account.
Monitors in the client’s dashboard can be added by the reseller and client using the addMonitor API command or from the client’s dashboard (for non-Managed orders).
If the first added monitor (Server-Device or Application) for the agent is added for a Managed order, the agent becomes available only for Managed orders, and monitors for non-Managed orders cannot be added for this agent.
If all monitors are deleted from an agent it becomes available again and whether it will be Managed or non-Managed agent will depend again on the first added monitor.
Server-Device monitors are linked to the same order as the agent that they belong to.
The order that an agent belongs to can be changed from the agent’s settings (accessible from the Agent List), and all Server-Device monitors running on that agent will be moved to the new order automatically.
Application monitors however are not linked to agent: they can be added irrespective of whether the order they belong to contains the Server item.
Adding Monitors from the Client’s Dashboard
The client can add monitors from his Monitis dashboard as soon as there is a non-Managed order created for the client by the reseller.
The client adds linking between monitor and order when adding the monitor. The monitor can be then linked at any time to other order supporting its configuration.
Note that orders are called “packages” on the client’s dashboard.
The initial linking of an agent to a package is done via the monitor add wizard.
The agent can be then re-linked to another package from the Agent List. It’s not possible to do the initial linking of the agent from the Agent List. Initially, before the client links the agent to a package, in the agent’s settings the Package Name will show “no order” and will be disabled.
The client shall then add his first Server-Device monitor to link the agent to an order by going to the Monitors top menu, clicking Server/Device monitors and then selecting the monitor he wants to add.
In the Step 1 of the wizard, for as long as the client doesn’t have any Server-Device monitors added and thus his agents are not linked to any package yet, the package column stays empty.
The client then selects the agent and clicks Next to proceed.
In the Step 2 of the wizard the client selects the package (order) to link the selected agent to.
The Package Name combo box will contain all the non-Managed orders issued for the client by the reseller that contain the Server item.
After selecting the package the client clicks Add to add the monitor to his dashboard.
Now if the client goes to the Agent List he will see that in the settings of the Agent it shows the agent linked to the selected package; the client can link it to any other non-Managed package that:
- Supports Server-Device monitoring (contains the Server item)
- Supports the highest frequency supported by the original package
Now when the client goes to add his next Server-Device monitor to the same agent, there in the Step 2 of the Server-Device monitor add wizard he will see that the Agent is now linked to the package that he has selected when adding the first monitor.
Notice that the package the agent is linked to can’t be changed here in the monitor add wizard: it can be done from the agent’s settings in the Agent List, as shown above.
Notice also that the agents that are linked to Managed orders (done by reseller via API) are not available to client: they are shown disabled in the list.
Change of Agent’s Check Frequency
Clients can change check frequency of an agent provided that:
- The agent is linked to a non-Managed package supporting the chosen higher frequency
- The agent is currently in the Running status
If trying to bulk change check interval for the selected agents, if any of the agents doesn’t meet the above specified conditions, bulk change will not be possible to perform. E.g. you can see it on the below screen that the Check Interval button is disabled because one of the selected agents is tied to a Managed order.
All monitors other than Server-Device (Uptime, End-User and Application) are linked directly to orders.
To add, for example, an Uptime monitor the user goes to the Monitors top menu, clicks Uptime Monitors and selects the monitor he wants.
In the Step 1 of the add monitor wizard, the client selects the order (package) to connect the monitor to.
The Package Name combo-box contains all the non-Managed packages issued to the reseller by the client that contain Uptime Monitoring as an item. The client shall choose the one that supports the configuration he wants: in case of an uptime monitor, the number of monitoring locations.
In the Step 2 of the wizard the client selects the monitoring locations for the monitor. If more locations are selected than supported by the selected package, the client will see an error message.
Changing Monitor’s Order from Settings
The order (package) that the monitor belongs to can also be changed from the monitor’s settings.
Bulk Change of Locations for Uptime Monitors
Clients can bulk change monitoring locations for the selected monitors. If any of the selected monitors is linked to a package that doesn’t support the chosen number of locations, the change will not take place and an error message will be shown.