Editing Alert Rule for a Monitor or Contact Included In a Group Rule

For a Monitor Included In a Group Rule

If you have an alert rule for a contact assigned not to an individual monitor but to a monitor group, it means that:

  • The alert rule is the same for all monitors in the group. If e.g. the rule is set to alert the contact for all uptime monitors, as shown in the below screen, then the set “Alert upon 1 failure from 2 locations” rule applies to all uptime monitors. If any uptime monitor fails as per this rule, the contact will receive alerts.
    New_Alert_Rule_However, you can exclude any monitor from the group rule by simply editing the rule for it.In our example, there is an alert rule set to a contact to alert for all uptime monitor failures, as shown below.Alert_Rules_You can edit this rule for any individual uptime monitor, and it will exclude the monitor from the group rule.Click the icon on the top right corner of the monitor to open the context menu, and select Alert Rules.
    Monitor_Settings_The Alert Rules window will open, showing all alert rules assigned currently to this monitor.
    Monitor_Alert_Rules_Since you have a rule to alert the selected contact for all uptime monitor failures, this rule is added to every uptime monitor’s alert rule list.

    Locate this rule in the alert rule list of your selected monitor, click the icon in the rightmost column to open the context menu and select Edit.

    The Edit Alert Rule window will open.

    Edti_Alert_Rule_

    Edit the rule by changing the number of failures and the number of locations to fail from.

    Click Save when finished.

    Go to the Alerts menu and select Contacts. The Contact window will open. Find the contact in the list, and click on the icon in the rightmost column to open the context menu.
    Contacts_

    The Alert Rules window will open.
    Alert_Rules__001

    Notice that the icon next to the alert rule for all uptime monitors has changed. This is because you have edited this rule for an individual monitor. Click All Uptime Monitors. The list of all your uptime monitors will open.
    All_Uptime_Monitors_

    Notice that the checkbox next to the monitor that you have edited the group rule for is unchecked, meaning that the “Alert for all uptime monitors” rule no longer applies to this monitor.

     

    For a Contact Included In a Group Rule

    In the same way, if you have an alert rule for a monitor assigned not to an individual contact but to a contact group, it means that:

    • The alert rule is the same for all contacts in the group. If e.g. the rule is set to alert all contacts when this monitor fails, as shown in the below screen, then the set “Alert upon 1 failure from 2 locations” rule applies to all contacts. If the monitor fails as per this rule, all your contacts will receive alerts.
      Blog .monitis.com New_Alert_Rule__001
      However, you can exclude any contact from the group rule by simply editing the rule for it.In our example, there is an alert rule set to a monitor to alert all contacts if the monitor fails, as shown below.
      blog.monitis.com_Alert_Rules_You can edit this rule for any individual contact, and it will exclude the contact from the group rule.Go to the Alerts menu and select Contacts.

      The Contacts window will open.
      blog.monitis.com_All_Contacts_

      Since you have a rule to alert all contacts if the selected monitor fails, this rule is added to every contact’s alert rule list.

      Click the icon in the rightmost column next to any contact to open the context menu, and select Alert Rules.

      The Alert Rules window will open, showing all alert rules assigned currently to the selected contact.
      blog.monitis.com_Alert_Rules__001

      Locate this rule in the alert rule list of your selected contact, click the icon in the rightmost column to open the context menu and select Edit.

      The Edit Alert Rule window will open.
      blog.monitis.com_Edit_Alert_Rules_

      Edit the rule by changing the number of failures and the number of locations to fail from.

      Click Save when finished.

      In your monitor, click the icon in the top rightmost corner to open the context menu, and select Alert Rules.
      blog.monitis.com_Monitor_Settings_

      The Alert Rules window will open.blog.monitis.com-Alert_Rules_

      Notice that the icon next to the alert rule for all contacts has changed. This is because you have edited this rule for an individual contact. Click All Contacts. The list of all your contacts will open.

      blog.monitis.com-_All_Contact_Group_

      Notice that the checkbox next to the contact that you have edited the group rule for is unchecked, meaning that the “Alert all contacts” rule no longer applies to this contact.